Lisa Meeches appointed to the Advisory Council on Workforce Development


To support and enhance a partnership between industry, labour and government in developing provincial workforce policies, Competitiveness, Training and Trade Minister Andrew Swan today announced the appointment

of members to the new Advisory Council on Workforce Development.

“The council will bring a wealth of knowledge on workforce development to the table and I am looking forward to hearing their ideas and recommendations,” said Swan. “To keep moving forward and building for
the future, the province must continue to invest in its greatest resource – the people of Manitoba.”

The Advisory Council on Workforce Development Act was passed to encourage the co-operative participation of employers, employees and labour organizations for developing government policies and strategies
designed to support Manitoba’s workforce.

The new members of the Advisory Council on Workforce Development are:
. Ron Koslowsky, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters – Manitoba Division

. David Martin, Manitoba Building and Construction Trades Council

. Wayne Skrypnyk, United Steel Workers
. Dale Neal, Manitoba Government and General Employees’ Union
. John Schubert, McCaine Electric
. MaryAnn Mihychuk, HudBay Minerals
. Helen Halliday, Delta Hotel
. Bruce Clarke, StandardAero (retired)
. Lisa Meeches, Eagle Vision;
. Alan Copeland, Assiniboine Community College

Swan said the advisory council will provide information and advice to government on trends, initiatives, policies and strategies for developing Manitoba’s workforce.  Partnerships resulting from the
advisory council will help support industry sectors with recruitment and retention strategies.  All of the council members are appointed to a three-year term.

In Budget 2009, the provincial government announced investments in education, training and skills development designed to help expand Manitoba’s workforce and its growing knowledge-based economy.